Monday, August 30, 2010

Fall 2010 at the Walker Center: events and workshops

We have a busy month ahead as the fall session kicks off! Read on for workshop schedules and other upcoming events that will be hosted by the Walker Center for Academic Excellence from September through November.

First Year Initiative (FYI) New Student Orientation Sessions
On Campus Orientation: Wednesday, Sept. 1, 2010 from 6 – 8 p.m., College Hall, Rooms 51/52
Online Virtual Orientation: Saturday, Sept. 11, 2010 from 11 a.m. – noon

Get information on our First Year Initiative (FYI) program, financing your education, study skills, support services, navigating PRC 101, ordering textbooks, and more! RSVP by Friday, Aug. 27 by calling 888.GO.PEIRCE, ext. 9219, or visit www.peirce.edu/newstudentorientation.

Workshop Schedule
To register for any of the workshops listed below, e-mail the Walker Center or call 888.GO.Peirce, ext. 9251.

Academic Workshops
  • Calculator Skills for Business Statistics: Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m., Room 39
  • Plagiarism 101: Avoid Falsifying Your Work: Thursday, Sept. 30, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m., Room 65
  • Essay Writing: Saturday, Sept. 25, 2010 from 10 a.m. – noon, Room 32

    Technology Skills
    • PRC 101 – New Student Orientation Workshop: Monday, Sept. 13, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m., Room 57 
    • Using Windows 7: Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m., Room 47
    • Microsoft Word 2007: Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m., Room 39
    • Computer Security: Tuesday, Oct. 5, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m., Room 39

    Personal Development
    • Using Your Time Better: Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m., Room 65
    • Financial Planning at Any Age: Saturday, Oct. 30, 2010 from 10 a.m. – noon, Room 32

    Online Workshops
    The following workshops will be offered interactively through Adobe Connect. Instructions for Adobe Connect will be provided upon registration.
    • Promoting Professor and Student Relationships: Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m.
    • Dealing with Life’s Daily Stresses: Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2010 from 6 – 7 p.m.


    Study Day at the Walker Center
    Saturday, Oct. 9, 2010 from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
    2nd floor, Alumni Hall

    As you prepare for exams and final projects, you can benefit from the help of faculty and tutors to assist you with homework, assignments, or test preparation. To register, e-mail the Walker Center or call 888.GO.PEIRCE, ext. 9251, by Friday, Oct. 1, 2010.

    Fifth annual Thanksgiving dinner!
    Thursday, Nov. 18, 2010 from 4:30 – 6:30 p.m.
    College Hall, Rooms 51/52

    This is a time to give thanks for a great year and a successful new academic year. We invite you to bring and share your favorite Thanksgiving dessert. You do not have to bring a dish, but if you would like to contribute to the dinner, please let us know when you confirm your attendance.
    During this event, there will be grant orientation meetings. Learn more about your grant program and staff available to support you. Please RSVP to the Walker Center at 888.GO.PEIRCE, ext. 9251, or WCAE@Peirce.edu by Friday, Nov. 5, 2010.